This post is for you, but it’s mostly for me.

Albums coming up soon that I’m looking forwards to:

Tonite: Franz Ferdinand by Franz Ferdinand. Drops 1/27. I quite like the Franz, and their first two albums both bring me much joy. Good hooks, tight production, and I dig the singers voice. The second album showed movement away from the now-standard Brit/Indie/Dance/Pop style of the debut, which I appreciated. I’m excited about the nods to a quirkier, moodier sound that I’m gleaning from the new single, Ulysses. Ah hell, here it is:

Middle Cyclone, by Neko Case. Drops 3/3. Neko Case is lovely, and I’ve been dabbling in her work for a while, and I think I would enjoy hearing some new stuff.

Hazards of Love, by The Decemberists. Drops 3/24. OMG NEW DECEMBERISTS! Absolutely one of my favorite bands, full stop. When I saw them in November, they played a couple of songs that should, theoretically, be on Hazards of Love, and they were bangin’ hot. So I’m a little excited. You can go to their website RIGHT NOW and download a cut off the album, called The Rakes Song. Do it now.

Honorable Mentions: Mos Def – The Ecstatic (2/9), Lamb of God – Wrath (2/24), Madeleine Peyroux – Bare Bones (3/10)

