I have seen many movies. I think all I can do is one-sentance summaries to catch us all up.

Week 16: Conan the Barbarian. It’s nice how the lack of dialogue makes it easy to make bad jokes with your friends during the REALLY INTENSE MOMENTS.

Week 17: Traffic. Powerful film with just a fantastic cast…enough to ignore the overuse of mood/location setting color filters.

Week 18: Slaughter of the Vampires. Bad Italian horror film with warmed-over Dracula plot comes through with surprisingly beautiful dialogue…it’s better than The Hunger, at least!

Week 19: Star Trek. Geeked out over deft handling of an easily-effed-up property, good action, but my inner feminist is disappointed with the (non)handling of gender roles.

Week 20: Dracula (1979 version). Frank Langella is the best Dracula, bar none – my favorite movie version, though it still suffers from not really being a great movie compared to, like, actually good movies.

Week 21: Terminator Salvation. There sure are a lot of explosions in this movie!

Week 22: Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb. Kubrick is one of my favorite directors, and he doesn’t dissapoint – masterful handling of the audience/protagonist relationship underlies the so-thick-it-chokes irony/commentary that’s still fairly relevant.

Week 23: Let The Right One In. A swedish vampire drama/horror/romance; not only is it the best vampire movie I’ve ever seen, bar none, it’s one of the most beautiful pieces of film I’ve had to pleasure to be an audience for. Simply wonderful.

…which puts me perfectly on top of things, as of 6/7/09! I am 23 for 23!

New Releases

  1. Milk (Week 1)
  2. Watchmen (Week 11)
  3. Gran Torino (Week 2)
  4. Star Trek (Week 19)
  5. Push (Week 10)
  6. Terminator Salvation (Week 21)

New To Me!

  1. Rear Window (Week 12)
  2. Let The Right One In (Week 23)
  3. Traffic (Week 17)
  4. Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb. (Week 22)
  5. The Exorcist (Directors Cut) (Week 7)
  6. Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind (Week 8 )
  7. Hellboy (Week 3)
  8. Serenity (Week 5)
  9. Conan the Barbarian (Week 16)
  10. Formula 51 (Week 6)
  11. Slaughter of the Vampires (Week 18)
  12. The Hunger (Week 13)

Old Favorites

  1. The Good, The Bad and The Ugly (Week 9)*
  2. The Great Escape (Week 15)*
  3. Hook (Week 4)
  4. Dracula (1979 version) (Week 20)
  5. Terminator 2: Judgment Day (Week 14)

*finally chose….sorry Steve, but Clint is just that tiniest bit sexier. What can I say?

