I’ve already started to wobble a little bit, but I have managed to fulfill my movie quota for the last three weeks.

Week 4: Hook

Ah, a classic. Some friends and I arranged a movie night featuring this Oscar-nominated update of Peter Pan. If you haven’t seen it, I can’t recommend it enough. Maybe it’s just where it fell in my childhood, but I have an honest love for the film, not least because Rufio is so Emo and Dustin Hoffman’s Captain Hook is so very, very Goth. It warms my heart.

Also, it was released in 1991, falling right in the heart of the time when non-digital visual effects were at their technological peak. Movies from the early 90s that could afford it look so much better than the first wave of CGI that started in the mid-90s (Jurassic Park, for example). The crazy Lost Boys camp, the Pirate town, the Croc Clock, Hook’s Ship…all of that physical scenery really lends a beautiful look to the film.

So, 7 out of 7 detachable hooks for Hook.

Hook at IMDB. Trailer.

After Hook, I failed at seeing something in that next week, what with a weekend trip to NYC and some epic logistical failures involving the city of Cambridge. Yesterday, however, I managed to double up on movies, fulfilling my challenge obligations. They are still counted per week, though, to keep things easy.

Week 5: Serenity

Yes, I’ve seen Firefly. I think it’s pretty sweet, but I wouldn’t define myself as a browncoat. My friend lent me the DVD of Serenity, which I didn’t catch in theatres, and it seemed appropriate to watch on a lazy Saturday afternoon.

I liked it. I mean, I know the characters already, so it was nice to “see” them again, if you know what I mean. The plot is pretty solid, a lot of the dialogue is good, there are some great moments. I thought that the total awkwardness between Mal and Annoura was a little overdone.  Kaylee continues to be one of my favorite fictional characters from anywhere, ever. And I actually really liked the Operative, he has enough complexity that he was interesting, even while keeping on task as the major adversity for the plot.

I dunno how it comes off to people who aren’t already fans of the IP, but I also dunno why anyone who wasn’t already at least aware of the Firefly universe would see it, so thats a wash.

Speaking of, why does Wash die? It makes no dramatic sense, compared to the other options if one of the crew has to go. Weird.

Overall, 3.5 out of 5 incomprehensible Chinese curses.

Serenity at IMDB. Trailer.

Week 6: Formula 51

I’m not going to lie – I chose this to watch because it’s the shortest of the movies on my stack of things I have that I haven’t watched, and because I knew from the outset that I wouldn’t have to pay a lot of attention to it.

It features Samuel L. Jackson as a kilt-wearing genius chemist trying to get the most money he can from a British crime syndicate for the formula of a new wonder drug he’s developed, which is apparently 51 times as potent as cocaine.

Um, it’s not very good. You should watch these clips, to demonstrate how not good it is.

And, the most awkward rave scene ever:

Actually, the cinematography and visual style are pretty good, for a frenetic caper movie. And the movie does transcend merely bad to become “You HAVE to see this” celebratory awful, so it has that going for it. But, um, see Snatch instead, if you have the choice and want to watch something that doesn’t make you dumber.

1 out of 9 kilt-wearing Jacksons.

Formula 51 at IMDB. Trailer (you should watch the trailer).

So, here’s the current rankings, as 2/8/09:

New Releases

  1. Milk (Week 1)
  2. Gran Torino (Week 2)

New To Me!

  1. Hellboy (Week 3)
  2. Serenity (Week 5)
  3. Formula 51 (Week 6)

Old Favorites

  1. Hook (Week 4)
